LibGuides: Browse Resources: Nursing

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Designed for academic institutions, this database is the leading resource for scholarly research with more full-text journals and more peer-reviewed journals than any other database available. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
AHFS Consumer Medication Information This link opens in a new window Providing vital medication information for patients, AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers and has been a Top Ten Award Winner in the Department of Health and Human Services National Consumer Education Materials Contest. This content is updated monthly.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window An STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher of 243 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window CINAHL® with Full Text is rich collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 610 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. Full-text coverage dates back to 1981.
Consumer Health Database This link opens in a new window Covers public health topics including pandemics, disaster preparedness, and obesity and features the American Journal of Public Health and Epidemiology and Infection, among other leading publications.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window Contains over 9000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Contains over 100,000 full-text authoritative ebooks on a wide range of subjects.
Fuente Académica This link opens in a new window Fuente Académica provides researchers with a collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain, designed to make academic research readily available in PDF format.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window The leading comprehensive medical journal source, MEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, nearly 1,450 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. And of those, 558 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection.
Medscape This link opens in a new window Medscape from WebMD offers specialists, primary care physicians, and other health professionals the Web's most robust and integrated medical information and educational tools. After a simple, 1-time, free registration, Medscape from WebMD automatically delivers to you a personalized specialty site that best fits your registration profile.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window Supports students, instructors, researchers, and nurses around the world with its diverse mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Contains over 9,000 full-text magazines, newspapers and scholarly journals
PubMed This link opens in a new window http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed
PubMed Directory of Topic-Specific Queries This link opens in a new window Pre-built query filters for various topics.

Journal of School Health Addresses practice, theory, and research related to the health and well-being of school-aged youth. The journal is a top-tiered resource for professionals who work toward providing students with the programs, services, and environment they need for good health and academic success.
Journal of School Nursing As the official research publication of the National Association of School Nurses (www.nasn.org), The Journal of School Nursing (JOSN) provides a bimonthly peer-reviewed forum for improving the health of school children and the health of the school community. The JOSN seeks to engage a broad range of clinicians, scholars and community leaders in an ongoing exchange of information through scholarly articles, including original research, research reviews, evidenced-based innovations in clinical practice or policy, commentaries, and letters to the editor. In addition to the nursing perspective, the expertise from medicine, public health, epidemiology, health services research, policy analysis, education administration, and other disciplines that contribute to the health and well-being of students are welcome.
NASN School Nurse The NASN School Nurse is a peer-reviewed clinical resource journal of the National Association of School Nurses. The mission of the NASN School Nurse is to advance the practice of school nursing through the publishing of evidence-based, clinical resource articles and providing information on emerging issues, innovation in school health, and organizational resources of interest to our members.

NASN the National Association of School Nurses.
NASN works to optimize student health and learning by advancing the practice of school nursing.
The National League for Nursing
Dedicated to excellence in nursing, the National League for Nursing is the premier organization for nurse faculty and leaders in nursing education. Founded in 1893 as the American Society of Superintendents of Training Schools for Nurses, the National League for Nursing was the first nursing organization in the United States,
National Student Nurses Association (NSNA)
NSNA is dedicated to fostering the professional development of nursing students. With 60,000 members nationwide,
Nurses for a Healthier Tomorrow (NHT)
Nurses for a Healthier Tomorrow (NHT) is a coalition of 43 nursing and health care organizations working together to wage a communications campaign to attract people to the nursing profession.
The American Nurses Association (ANA)
The American Nurses Association (ANA) is the premier organization representing the interests of the nation's 3.6 million registered nurses. ANA advances the nursing profession by fostering high standards of nursing practice, promoting a safe and ethical work environment, bolstering the health and wellness of nurses, and advocating on health care issues that affect nurses and the public. ANA is at the forefront of improving the quality of health care for all.

Researching Nursing in our cumulative Search Engine, Ebsco Discovery Service EDS

Ebsco Discovery Service, EDS "School Nursing" Subject Search
EDS allows you to limit your search within the scope of your subject area. In this case opening the link above will take you to an advance search engine within the subject of School Nursing.

Note that the result lists' first offering is Ebsco's "Research Starter" subject overview for School Nursing:

School Nursing Research Starter (EDS)
School nursing is an integral part of the United States educational system. While the institution of school nursing began with the single purpose of improving public health through the treatment and containment of infectious diseases, it has evolved into a multi-dimensional profession. The most significant expansion in the role of school nursing during the second half of the 20th century was in the area of children with disabilities. Today, nurses also oversee school health service programs and help treat students with mental health issues. Because of a nurse shortage, many schools find themselves without a full time nurse. These schools have employed a number of innovative methods to ensure that they meet their students' medical needs.
more...less...
Keywords Chronic Illness; Disability; Mental Health; National Association of School Nurses (NASN); Public Health; School Health Service Program; School Nursing; Terminal Illness

Browse Resources - Nursing

Researching Nursing in our cumulative Search Engine, Ebsco Discovery Service EDS