LibGuides: Researching Management In CCOL: Web Resources

Financial Market Sources

Bloomberg Business Bloomberg is a premier site for business and financial market news, delivering world economic news, stock futures, stock quotes, & personal finance advice.
Calculated Risk A finance and economics blog run by Bill McBride, a retired senior executive of a public company with a backgroung in management, finance and economics.
CNBC CNBC is a recognized world leader in business news, providing real-time financial market coverage and business information.
CNN Money CNN Money is CNN.com's exclusive business website and the online home to Fortune and Money magazines.
Real Time Exchange Rates Forex Directory offers information on real time exchange rates.

Institutions

All Central Banks Country alphabetical list of central banks.
Bank for International Settlements (BIS) Established on May 17th, 1930, the Bank for International Settlements (BIS) is the world's oldest international financial organisation. The BIS has 60 member central banks, representing countries from around the world that together make up about 95% of world GDP.
European Central Bank (ECB) Official website of ECB.
The European Commission Official website of the European Commission
European Statistics (Eurostat) High quality statistics on Europe.
The European Union Official website of the European Union, offering information on agriculture, business, culture, health, etc.
The European Union (Economic Affairs) Economic and Financial Affairs of the EU.
The FED The US Federal Reserve Bank.

International Organizations

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 188 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) The OECD provides a forum in which governments can work together to share experiences and seek solutions to common problems. We work with governments to understand what drives economic, social and environmental change. They measure productivity and global flows of trade and investment. We analyse and compare data to predict future trends. We set international standards on a wide range of things, from agriculture and tax to the safety of chemicals.
The United Nations system of organizations The UN System Chief Executives Board for Coordination (CEB) is the longest-standing and highest-level coordination forum of the United Nations system. It comprises 29 Executive Heads of the United Nations and its Funds and Programmes, the Specialized Agencies, including the Bretton Woods Institutions (The World Bank and IMF), and Related Organizations - the WTO and the IAEA.
The World Bank World Bank Open Data offers free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.
The World Trade Organization (WTO) The World Trade Organization (WTO) is the only global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations. At its heart are the WTO agreements, negotiated and signed by the bulk of the world’s trading nations and ratified in their parliaments. The goal is to help producers of goods and services, exporters, and importers conduct their business.

Mass Media

ABYZ News Links: Newspapers & News Media Find links to newspapers and news media. Offering an extensive newspaper and news media guide searchable by regions and countries.
Balkan Insight BIRN The Balkan Investigative Reporting Network, BIRN, is a close-knit group of editors and trainers that enables journalists in the region to produce in-depth analytical and investigative journalism on complex political, economic and social themes.
BBC Capital The British Broadcasting Corporation's money and business site.
Marketplace from NPR Every week, more than 12 million listeners turn to Marketplace, from American Public Media, for timely and accessible business and economic news. The portfolio of programs includes Marketplace with Kai Ryssdal, Marketplace Morning Report with David Brancaccio, Marketplace Weekend and Marketplace Tech. Learn more about our programs below.
Planet Money- the Economy Expalined, from NPR Imagine you could call up a friend and say, "Meet me at the bar and tell me what's going on with the economy." Now imagine that's actually a fun evening. That's what's going on at Planet Money.
Reuters International multimedia news agency

Research Sources

Kirstein Business Library at the BPL Kirstein was the second library in the country to be built specifically as a public business library. Today it offers career and job hunting information, entrepreneurial resources, assistance to investors, and maintains a variety of business directories and industry statistics. Kirstein Business Library also houses the Thomas R. Drey, Jr. Investment Center which offers up-to-date materials for those seeking information on how to invest wisely.
Business information resources via RBA A list of evaluated resources on business information compiled by World Review Information Professional of the Year award winner Karen Blakeman
Global Economics Research Institutes Economics Departments, Institutes and Research Centers in the World. There is now an amazing number of economics institutions on the WWW. This is an attempt by Christian Zimmermann (Economic Research Department, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis) to index them. Currently 13,423 institutions in 231 countries and territories are listed,
Harvard Business School Research The Harvard Business School has a long tradition of practice-oriented research and teaching that has a profound and far-reaching impact on business and management education world wide.
Links to Business News and Research via CEOExpress Links to various newspapers, agencies, organizations and companies which enable research processes.
RAND Corporation Research The RAND Corporation is a non-profit institution that helps improve policy and decision-making through research and analysis.

Statistical Sources

Bloomberg Business Bloomberg is a premier site for business and financial market news, delivering world economic news, stock futures, stock quotes, & personal finance advice.
Central Bank Research Hub - via the BIS Read current bank papers as well as search the index by institution and publication series
European Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs via the European Commission Statistical information on varous European Union industries.
European Statistics (Eurostat) High quality statistics on Europe.
IMF Data The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
International Statistics Source List via RBA Links to websites of various international statistics agencies. compiled by World Review Information Professional of the Year award winner Karen Blakeman
National Statistical Offices via the WTO A World Trade Organization list of national statistics agencies by country.
OECD.Stat via The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development OECD.Stat includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.
Trading Economics - Macroeconomic Information For All Countries Trading Economics provides its users with accurate information for 196 countries including historical data for more than 300.000 economic indicators, exchange rates, stock market indexes, government bond yields and commodity prices. Our data is based on official sources, not third party data providers, and our facts are regularly checked for inconsistencies. TradingEconomics.com has received more than 100 million page views from more than 200 countries.
U.S. Department of Commerce The Department of Commerce works with businesses, universities, communities, and the Nation’s workers to promote job creation, economic growth, sustainable development, and improved standards of living for Americans. Through its 12 bureaus the department’ offer a wellspring of information.
United Nations Statistics Division The United Nations website for statistics.
United States Census Bureau The United States Census Bureau offers a variety of demographic information for states, counties, cities, ZIP codes and the country as a whole, Statistical Abstracts of the United States from 1878 forward, some historical census information and some international statistics.
World Bank Open Data Free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.
WTO Statistics Database The WTO Statistics Database, which allows you to retrieve statistical information in the following presentations. Trade Profiles, Tariff Profiles, Services Profiles and Aid for Trade Profiles. The Time Series section allows an interactive data retrieval of international trade statistics
Yahoo Finance Provides company and industry profiles, stock prices, financial data, comparison charts.