Step 2: Try Using Google Scholar in addition to EDS.
Google Scholar is a search engine tool that allows for more refined, scholarly searching than Google on open access material as well as research published on the Web by academic publishers, universities, government agencies, and professional societies.
DO NOT PAY FOR FULL-TEXT ARTICLES!!! Even if Cambridge College Library does not have access to a full-text article, Your Local Public Library will be able to get materials for you via Inter-Library-Loan.
Be sure to update Google Scholar on your computer to include Cambridge College's Online Library Resources, Follow instructions in the video below and type in Cambridge College and Open Worldcat in the search box of Library Links
Your results should look like this:
INDIVIDUAL SUBJECT RESEARCH DATABASES
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowDesigned for academic institutions, this database is the leading resource for scholarly research with more full-text journals and more peer-reviewed journals than any other database available. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
AHFS Consumer Medication InformationThis link opens in a new windowProviding vital medication information for patients, AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers and has been a Top Ten Award Winner in the Department of Health and Human Services National Consumer Education Materials Contest. This content is updated monthly.
BioMed CentralThis link opens in a new windowAn STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher of 243 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals.
Business Source UltimateThis link opens in a new windowWith premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals, this database is the essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more. Indexing and abstracts and full text are available back as far as 1886. It contains over 5,600 full-text magazines and journals.
CINAHL with Full TextThis link opens in a new windowCINAHL® with Full Text is rich collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 610 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. Full-text coverage dates back to 1981.
ERICThis link opens in a new windowA comprehensive index of education literature and resources, ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
Fuente AcadémicaThis link opens in a new windowFuente Académica provides researchers with a collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain, designed to make academic research readily available in PDF format.
GreenFILEThis link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary environmental collection, GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic EditionThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Journal of School NursingAs the official research publication of the National Association of School Nurses (www.nasn.org), The Journal of School Nursing (JOSN) provides a bimonthly peer-reviewed forum for improving the health of school children and the health of the school community. The JOSN seeks to engage a broad range of clinicians, scholars and community leaders in an ongoing exchange of information through scholarly articles, including original research, research reviews, evidenced-based innovations in clinical practice or policy, commentaries, and letters to the editor. In addition to the nursing perspective, the expertise from medicine, public health, epidemiology, health services research, policy analysis, education administration, and other disciplines that contribute to the health and well-being of students are welcome.
Journal of Teacher EducationThe Journal of Teacher Education (JTE) is leading teacher education through the 21st century with timely topics such as field experiences and teacher education; cognitive science and critical thinking; preparing teachers for urban schools; teachers' beliefs; accreditation and certification; selection, retention, and recruitment of minority teachers and teacher leadership; perspectives on leadership; professional ethics in teacher education; and restructuring teacher education.
Kanopy VideoThis link opens in a new windowKanopy is a video streaming collection for colleges offering a "Netflix-like" user experience and a broad selection of over 26,000 documentaries, feature films and training videos from thousands of producers. Touching on all topics, featured producers in Kanopy's collection include Criterion Collection, PBS, HBO, The Video Project, New Day Films, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features, BBC, and many more. Films can be watched from anywhere, anytime by all staff and students.
Library, Information Science & Technology AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowA complete library & information management resource, Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s
MEDLINE with Full TextThis link opens in a new windowThe leading comprehensive medical journal source, MEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, nearly 1,450 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. And of those, 558 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection.
MedscapeThis link opens in a new windowMedscape from WebMD offers specialists, primary care physicians, and other health professionals the Web's most robust and integrated medical information and educational tools. After a simple, 1-time, free registration, Medscape from WebMD automatically delivers to you a personalized specialty site that best fits your registration profile.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in PrintThis link opens in a new windowMental Measurements Yearbook with Tests In Print, produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within diverse areas. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
NASN School NurseThe NASN School Nurse is a peer-reviewed clinical resource journal of the National Association of School Nurses. The mission of the NASN School Nurse is to advance the practice of school nursing through the publishing of evidence-based, clinical resource articles and providing information on emerging issues, innovation in school health, and organizational resources of interest to our members.
OpenDissertationsThis link opens in a new windowEBSCO Open Dissertations now includes the content from American Doctoral Dissertations. It is a free database with records for more than 1.2 million electronic theses and dissertations from around the world.This enhanced database includes more than 153,000 theses and dissertations in total, including 70,000 new citations for theses and dissertations from 1902 to the present. The new citations include a link to access the full text, when available, via the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed.
PsycARTICLESThis link opens in a new windowPsycARTICLES® from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 163,000 articles from more than 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. PsycARTICLES is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms®.
PsycBOOKSThis link opens in a new windowPsycBOOKS® from the American Psychological Association (APA), includes over 52,000 chapters in PDF from over 3,500 books, published by APA and other distinguished publishers. It includes over 1,600 classic books of landmark historical impact in psychology dating from the 1600s, and the exclusive electronic release of more than 1,500 authored entries from the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.
PsycEXTRAThis link opens in a new windowPsycEXTRA® is a unique database that combines bibliographic records with full-text professional and lay-audience literature such as legal testimony and amicus briefs, reports, conference materials, popular magazines, factsheets, grants, and web materials. It is the premier resource for information and data for cutting-edge research and practice in the behavioral and social sciences and an archive of gray literature documenting psychology's development. The database contains publications such as technical and government reports, conference papers, newsletters, magazines, videos, press releases, and consumer brochures
PsycINFOThis link opens in a new windowPsycINFO® is the American Psychological Association's (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations.It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, and contains over 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s, with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Ninety-nine percent of its content is peer-reviewed. Included is information on the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages. PsycINFO is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms®.
PubMedThis link opens in a new windowhttp://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed
Regional Business NewsThis link opens in a new windowThis robust database provides ultimate coverage for full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canada. Whether searching for information about presidential candidates, franchise restaurants, the retail industry, business planning, or political participation, Regional Business News will cover the story.
SAGE OpenThis link opens in a new windowSAGE Open is a peer-reviewed, "Gold" open access journal from SAGE that publishes original research and review articles in an interactive, open access format. Articles may span the full spectrum of the social and behavioral sciences and the humanities. Browse subjects or articles or check out "Most Read" or "Most cited"!
Science.govThis link opens in a new windowSearches over 45 databases and 2,000 websites from 14 federal agencies, offering
authoritative US government science information, including research and development results.
SocINDEX with Full TextThis link opens in a new windowSocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. This product also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,300 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 450 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,900 "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources is included. Searchable cited references are also provided.
Google Scholar is a search engine tool that allows for more refined, scholarly searching than Google on open access material as well as research published on the Web by academic publishers, universities, government agencies, and professional societies.
DO NOT PAY FOR FULL-TEXT ARTICLES!!! Even if Cambridge College Library does not have access to a full-text article, Your Local Public Library will be able to get materials for you via Inter-Library-Loan.
Be sure to update Google Scholar on your computer to include Cambridge College's Online Library Resources, Follow instructions in the video below and type in Cambridge College and Open Worldcat in the search box of Library Links