Writing Tools

Citation Generators and Citation Management Software allows you to organize your sources and can generate citations for your reference and in-text citations. These tools have a number of features and uses, but be sure to always check and proofread your citations for accuracy.

Citation Management Software allows you to:

•   Generate citations for your assignments
•   Save or relocate your materials
•   Organize and Annotate your research
•   Import citation records from databases

You will want to choose the types of citation generator based on the type of project you are working on. In this guide, you will find several types of Citation Generators.

•   Database Generators shows how to generate simple citations internally from the library databases. This doesn't require any external websites or extra software.
•   Basic Citation Generators are ideal for small projects. These are generally web-based tools.
•   Zotero and Mendeley are more advanced softwares that allow you to import, organize and generate citation information. These systems can be incredibly helpful for research project organization and managing large numbers of citations.

Most library databases will generate citations for you after you have selected a specific item within the database. Below are quick instructions for finding the citation generators in the databases. Always proofread these before submitting them. They can contain errors.

EBSCO

•   Once inside the citation record, click the Cite button.
•   Choose the APA citation style. Copy and paste the citation. Be sure to proofread for accuracy.

ProQuest

•   Click the Cite button at the top of the screen. Make sure APA citation style is selected from the dropdown menu.
•   Copy and paste the citation. Be sure to proofread it for accuracy.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

•   Click on Citation Tools.
•   Select APA style.
•   Copy, paste, and proofread the citation for accuracy.

Basic Citation Generators

The Citation Generators listed below allow you to enter your resource information (e.g. book, journal article) and create a citation and bibliography that can be copied and pasted into your paper. You should always check and proofread your citations for accuracy.

•   Citation Builder
  This NCSU Library maintained resource allows you to enter information about your resource and generate a citation. Very simple and easy to use.
•   BibMe
  This web service allows you to create citations and bibliographic references you can copy and paste into your paper. It has look up feature which allows you to look up your reference (e.g. by URL, title, ISBN, etc) and automatically convert into a citation and bibliographic reference. Allows you to create a free account and save you references for future use.
•   Citation Machine
  This resource creates citations and bibliographic references you can copy and paste into your paper.it has an ISBN look up option for APA and MLA styles.
•   KnightCite
  This resources does not require an account to create citations and bibliographic references you can copy and paste into your paper. There are multiple citation formats available.​

While the library does not offer direct support for Mendeley, you may find it useful if you are working with a large number of citations. This guide is intended to serve as a reference for getting started with Mendeley.

About Mendeley

Mendeley, at a basic level, collects, manages, and cites research resources. It also allows for sharing research with collaborators and discovery of new research. It resides in your web browser where you do your work, and best of all it's free.

•   Mendeley allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies.
•   It automatically updates itself periodically to work with new online sources.
•   To get the most out of Mendeley, it is best to use both the web application AND the desktop application.

  See our Mendeley guide for more information about setting up and using Mendeley.

Zotero is a web extension or desktop software that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It's easy to use, lives in your web browser where you do your work, and best of all it's free.

•   Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies.
•   It automatically updates itself periodically to work with new online sources.

  See our Zotero guide for more information about setting up and using Zotero.