LibGuides: Videos Espanol: Home

Associated Press Video Collection In EDS Search Results,

When you conduct a search in EDS, a search results list will display with related articles, books, e-books, etc. If videos related to your search terms are available, a video carousel will also display between your second and third search results.

* Containing footage from 1930 through the present, AP Videos cover a variety of topics studied in schools and colleges. Users can find videos about current events, historical events, famous people — including political leaders, celebrities and athletes — as well as videos related to art, music, literature, science and technology

In addition CCOL patrons have access to our two vdieo database collections:

Kanopy Video This link opens in a new window Kanopy is a video streaming collection for colleges offering a "Netflix-like" user experience and a broad selection of over 26,000 documentaries, feature films and training videos from thousands of producers. Touching on all topics, featured producers in Kanopy's collection include Criterion Collection, PBS, HBO, The Video Project, New Day Films, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features, BBC, and many more. Films can be watched from anywhere, anytime by all staff and students.

Free Video On The Web

Academic Earth Academic Earth is a repository of video lectures from colleges and universities throughout the country. Videos range from being broad studies of subjects or highly specific looks into a particular topic. All videos have some sort of associated copyright policy; many use a Creative Commons license, which generally allows users to share and remix these videos, with an attribution to the video's creators.
more...less...
Subjects covered on Academic Earth range from Art & Architecture to Writing. Additionally, there are courses available for credit. Videos are added regularly.
Annenberg Media Annenburg media uses technology to advance teaching in schools throughout the country. While not all videos available on the Learner.org website are available for streaming, a substantial number are, and stream in Flash. The hundreds of videos that are available are grouped into topics ranging from Algebra to the World of Chemistry.
THE AP Archive The AP Archive is the film and video archive of The Associated Press (AP), one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent news gathering. The collection includes over 1.7 million global news and entertainment video stories dating back to 1895, sourced both from AP's own coverage and from our premium content partners. Hours of new video footage is added daily with coverage from AP's global news gathering network.
Archives of American Television With a collection of over 600 video interviews, the Archives of American Television boasts over 2,000 hours of digitized video footage of the giants of the television industry. Browse by people, shows, topics or professions or make use of the site-wide search feature.
Folkstreams A collection of independent American folk or roots culture documentaries, Folkstreams gives a home to these videos that otherwise would not have a home. While many of the videos on Folkstreams may have short runs in art house theaters or on PBS, there was no traditional outlet for videos of this kind and Folkstreams was made to not only give them a home, but to encourage the study of these videos and the cultural traditional they represent.
Hulu Boasting both free and subscription based content, Hulu has become the favorite site for many TV and movie junkies throughout the US. With network and cable shows both available to view online with limited commercial interruptions, Hulu is a great place to catch that episode of your favorite TV show you missed last night or to find new shows you might want to program to record on your DVR. Tired of cable bills? Some people are even trying to drop their cable provider entirely and watch only network TV and Hulu.
IMDB's full length movies The Internet Movie DataBase started as one man's project and has expanded into what we know it today. In addition to watching trailers and checking movie time, IMDB offers full length videos from movies and TV shows to stream without charge.
Internet Archive's Movie Archive Actually an archive of "moving images" the Internet Archive, aside from being a cool site to play with, hosts thousands of movies, ranging from full length feature films to recorded concerts. It's searchable and browseable by categories, and users who create accounts can upload videos of their own.
LearnersTV Offering free audio and video lectures from universities around the World, LearnersTV contains videos on a wide variety of topics all available to view for free. Most videos are made available through a Creative Commons license through the videos' respective universities.
Library Of Congress Videos The Library of Congress has expanded its online presence by creating a YouTube channel where they have uploaded hundreds of videos from its extensive collection. Videos range in coverage from current events to the Americans at Work, Americans at Leisure collection which showcases everyday life for Americans from the 1890's until the early 20th century. As with all YouTube channels, users have the option to subscribe to the channel, which allows them to stay current with the new content regularly added.
Media That Matters A showcase for short films on issues of importance, from gay rights to global warming, that have been selected from a diverse group of young filmmakers by a selection jury. All clocking in at less than 12 minutes, these videos are intended to start discussion and debate over the topics and a new batch of videos is made available every June.
MedlinePlus Run by the National Library of Medicine, MedlinePlus is a trustworthy consumer health database where you can find encyclopedic information on diseases, treatments and all manners of medical information written for everyday people, not medical professionals. Their anatomy and surgery videos are meant as overviews and are not intended to recommend or advise users. Videos require QuickTime to view.
Online Video Guide OVGuide is an online video portal to video content on the web, including free movies, TV shows, anime and more.
PBS Video PBS video is a Flash based video streaming service that allows you to watch PBS programs that you might have missed or want to watch again. Some programs are still unavailable but improvements are being made to allow for increasing numbers of PBS videos to becomes available online.
SnagFilms A documentary website whose makes available to the wide audience that SnagFilms feels the documentaries deserve. Not only can you watch any of the 1,500 films available on the website, but there is also a platform for you to "snag" a desired film and make it available for others to watch from a different website for free.
TED Talks Technology, Entertainment, Design (TED) is focused on it's mission of "Ideas Worth Spreading" and takes that to heart with it's online archive of speakers and presentations with the goal of giving everyone access to these ideas. TED Talks videos are short and discuss all matter of issues that can be related somehow to technology, entertainment, design, business, science or social issues.
Turner Classic Movies Choose clips from a list of classic films, or search for your favorite scenes.
TV Guide's Online Video Guide Watch TV episodes and celebrity videos online, on TV Guide's online video site.
WGBH Open Vault http://openvault.wgbh.org/
YouTube One of the largest and most popular video streaming sites, YouTube offers user-generated content for viewing for free on a range of topics, from the absurd to the collections of YouTubeEDU, academic lectures and presentations. Please note that not all content available on YouTube has the permission of the rights holder to be on YouTube and many videos are taken down due to terms of use violations.
You Tube EDU Free lectures from more than one hundred colleges and universities.

PBS Video

PBS Video PBS video is a Flash based video streaming service that allows you to watch PBS programs that you might have missed or want to watch again. Some programs are still unavailable but improvements are being made to allow for increasing numbers of PBS videos to becomes available online.

PBS video is a Flash based video streaming service that allows you to watch PBS programs that you might have missed or want to watch again. Some programs are still unavailable but improvements are being made to allow for increasing numbers of PBS videos to becomes available online.

Examples of available programs:

Library Director

Anthony Viola

Email Me

Contact:

500 Rutherford Ave.
Boston MA 02129

(617) 873-0156